Connect With Us


Kyrsten Sinema, Bisexual Woman, Wins AZ-9 Congressional Race

And another LGBT member of Congress has officially won. Former Arizona State Senator Kyrsten Sinema will represent the newest district in Arizona. She is now the first openly bisexual member of Congress ever. She is also the only woman in the House LGBT Equality Caucus given that Senator-elect Tammy Baldwin is moving up to the Senate.

joins Jared Polis (CO), David Cicilline (RI), Mark Takano (CA), Sean Batrick Maloney (NY) and Mark Pocan (WI). Her victory raises the number of LGBT people in Congress to seven.

Sinema won her seat by more than 6000 votes, most of them coming in the early and absentee ballots. She beat Republican Vernon Parker. AZ-9 covers parts of Phoenix and several suburbs.

Ron Barber, the current holder of AZ-2, has taken the lead over his challenger, but it is unclear if that lead will hold.



Share This Post